6.Audio Editing Skills.

 I decided to edit my podcast on Adobe Audition. It is commonly used by the Guardian to edit their weekly football podcast.

Getting Started and Editing Skills:

Mp3 compresses audio files which reduces quality of sound and can distort sound. my files where saved in WAV. with sample rate 44.100khz to avoid this.

My audio was split into episode files to make the editing process more efficient. It was important to save my originals and edit in separate files. If an error occurred in editing process. I could use the originals.

Screen Shot 2017-03-24 at 13.08.34
example of my  final edit.

Controlling levels- In words tend to be louder and end words tend to be more quite. To avoid inconsistent audio, i changed levels in edit. In industry practise, i would use compressor to control audio levels.

I recorded police sirens outside university to add to my package:

Final piece:

SoundCloud was a good platform for my podcast. It allows audio to be downloaded and easily acessable  so my audience can listen on the go and on any device.

Screen Shot 2017-03-24 at 12.43.03
(Edison, 2017) SoundCloud will allow listeners to download podcast to listen to on the phone, tablet and other listening devices.

Some of opinions expressed in my podcast contained offensive language and statements. One interviewee stated: “the police are all crackheads and on drugs”. we made the editorial judgment to take this out in edit to avoid libel issues.

We decided that offensive language would not be cut because it made it would have distorted sound levels and disrupted rhythm of edit. I would change by  bleeping out  the offensive languages with ethics in mind.

The editorial decision to keep our policeman anonymous meant we had to use a voicer. In future,  I would distort the voice of the interviewee in edit to avoid problems of confidentiality.

 

 

References: 

Edison Research.(2017) The Infinite Dial 2017. Unknown place of publication: Triton digital.[Online][Accessed on 24th March 2017]http://www.edisonresearch.com/infinite-dial-2017/

10 sec audio from youtube for start of vid- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gxZtwEBDfFM 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

